Musique Pour La Danse

Donkey Kong Country OST Recreated - Jammin' Sam Miller (2xLP Vinyl Record)


Shipping calculated at checkout.

Musique Pour La Danse is proud to present its first release in the field of video game OSTs, with the first-ever physical release of the much appreciated and globally followed Donkey Kong Country OST restoration / recreation project led by Louisiana-based composer and producer Jammin’ Sam Miller.

As far as video game soundtracks go, the OST for 1994 SNES game Donkey Kong Country has always been a fan-favorite. Composed mostly by David Wise, with additional tracks by Eveline Fischer and Robin Beanland, it featured atmospheric music with melodic and percussive elements, spanning many genres and vibes with many brilliant musical moments in the OST that have not only left a mark on generations of gamers, but have also earned this OST recognition far beyond the usual video game OST spheres.

Indeed, from 1940s swing, to atmospheric ambient matching the various landscapes encountered in the game, via danceable bangers and highly evocative library pieces, this OST has it all. However, hardware limitations at the time meant that the music on the SNES cartridge was highly compressed and difficult to enjoy without having a console handy.

Enter Jammin’ Sam Miller. Using hex SPC data crudely converted to MIDI, the producer painstakingly recreated DKC’s soundtrack note by note, by finding the original equipment used to create it. He then translated the MIDI into a modern studio context, adding in keyboard samples, and re-mixing the sounds with added effect and mastering.

As a result, the covers he crafted can be considered faithful HD recreations of the originals. They are breathtakingly musical, elevating the original OST to new heights and further underlining how brilliant it always was, while also making the point that video game soundtracks should not be looked down upon, quite to the contrary.

Remastered for vinyl, officially licensed and presented in a limited edition banana yellow double LP.

Track List
  1. Jammin' Sam Miller Theme
  2. Jammin' Sam Miller Simian Segue
  3. Jammin' Sam Miller Jungle Groove
  4. Jammin' Sam Miller Bonus Room Blitz
  5. Jammin' Sam Miller Cranky's Theme
  6. Jammin' Sam Miller Cave Dweller Concert
  7. Jammin' Sam Miller Aquatic Ambience
  8. Jammin' Sam Miller Funky's Fugue
  9. Jammin' Sam Miller Candy's Love Song
  10. Jammin' Sam Miller Bad Boss Boogie
  11. Jammin' Sam Miller Life In The Mines
  12. Jammin' Sam Miller Mine Cart Madness
  13. Jammin' Sam Miller Misty Menace
  14. Jammin' Sam Miller Voices of the Temple
  15. Jammin' Sam Miller Treetop Rock
  16. Jammin' Sam Miller Forest Frenzy
  17. Jammin' Sam Miller Northern Hempisheres
  18. Jammin' Sam Miller Ice Cave Chant
  19. Jammin' Sam Miller Fear Factory
  20. Jammin' Sam Miller Gangplank Galleon
  21. Jammin' Sam Miller Game Over
  22. Jammin' Sam Miller The Credits Concerto

You may also like

Recently viewed